[Logo] GDE Forum - Home for the best in diesel powertrain tuning
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Top Downloads] Top Downloads   [Members] Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
Oil Viscosity Change  RSS feed
Forum Index » 2014+ Ram 1500 (DS) EcoDiesel
Author Message
NERam

Joined: 05/01/2017 11:22:35
Messages: 1
Offline
The service bulletin back in July stated that you should change from using 5W-30 in your pickup to 5W-40. It also says a re-flash of the PCM and TCM is involved. Is it necessary to get the re-flash if you have the GDE Hot Tune and just start using 5W-40 oil? If so, would the GDE Hot Tune need need to be installed again after the re-flash?
mstriegel
[Avatar]

Joined: 11/01/2017 09:21:04
Messages: 1
Offline
GDE, I have the same question. My dealership reflashed my truck under bulletin 16-021 and I can't figure out whether it messed up the tune on my 2015 Ecodiesel
GreenDieselEngineering
[Avatar]

Joined: 10/07/2009 07:25:47
Messages: 348
Location: Southeast Michigan
The reflash is not needed for the oil change if running a GDE tune. If the dealer reflashed per the TSB, you can check if the GDE tune was overwritten by trying to set the cruise control at 20 mph. If the cruise will not set, then the dealer wiped out the tune.
[WWW]
tomcatvet

Joined: 08/02/2017 09:20:57
Messages: 2
Location: Edwards AFB, Ca
Offline
I purchased my truck new but late in the year and still have plenty of warranty left. should I have to use it and the GDE is reflashed as part of the repair of other update not related to the GDE where do we as costumers stand? Do we have to pay for the same flash again?
GreenDieselEngineering
[Avatar]

Joined: 10/07/2009 07:25:47
Messages: 348
Location: Southeast Michigan
tomcatvet wrote:I purchased my truck new but late in the year and still have plenty of warranty left. should I have to use it and the GDE is reflashed as part of the repair of other update not related to the GDE where do we as costumers stand? Do we have to pay for the same flash again?


No, we have an 'ecm service update' on the website. It is $50 to reinstall the tune if ever overwritten by the dealer.
[WWW]
 
Forum Index » 2014+ Ram 1500 (DS) EcoDiesel
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.4.1 © 2015 JForum Team • Maintained by Andowson.com